Eighteen members of Western Wayne High School’s FBLA (Future Business Leaders of America) chapter were recognized during the Awards of Excellence program at the annual State Leadership Conference held in Hershey recently.

The competitive events program features more than 60 events ranging from Accounting I to Website Design.  Students are able to compete in one individual or team event.

The students honored included Jack Tuman, Accounting I (first); the team of Alaina Lengner, Bennett Urian, Jillian Weston, Adam Mattern, and Jacob Karnick, Parliamentary Procedure (first); Allison Mattern, FBLA Principles & Procedures (first); Abby Gogolski, FBLA Principles & Procedures (fourth); Morgan Amorine, Intro to Parliamentary Procedure (fifth); the team of Laura Booths, Claudia Kovaleski, and Ben Burkhardt, Intro to Business Presentation (fifth); Samantha Atcavage, Public Speaking I (seventh); Hannah Roedl, Intro to Parliamentary Procedure (seventh); Dakotah Sopko, Intro to Business Procedures (seventh); the team of Marques Moore, John Mecca and James Kemmerer, Digital Video Production (ninth); and Alaina Lengner was recognized in Who’s Who in PA FBLA.

Eight of these students have qualified for further competition at the National Leadership Conference in Atlanta, Georgia, in late June.  Ms. Theresa Lubash is local chapter adviser.


Pictured are the members with their awards:  (Front row) Jacob Karnick, John Mecca, Hannah Roedl, Morgan Amorine, Abby Gogolski, Adam Mattern.  (Middle  row) Ben Burkhardt, Jillian Weston, James Kemmerer, Claudia Kovaleski, Dakota Sopko, Marques Moore.  (Back row) Bennett Urian, Alaina Lengner, Samantha Atcavage, Allison Mattern, Laura Booths, Jack Tuman.