Twenty-four MMI Preparatory School students captured first place and 27 students placed second during the Pennsylvania Junior Academy of Science (PJAS) state competition, which was held from May 20-22 at Penn State University’s main campus.

Louis DeAngelo was awarded the Region 2 Jr. High Excellency Award in BioChemistry. MMI competes in Region 2, which encompasses students from throughout Luzerne, Lackawanna, Wyoming, Susquehanna, Wayne, Pike and Monroe counties.

Lauren Babinetz recorded a perfect score and Joshua Kalada-Kania captured two first-place awards. Other first-place finishers are: Emily Ankiewicz, Elizabeth Borchick, Nicholas Carrato, Louis DeAngelo, Daniel DeMelfi, McKenna Gallager, Natalie Graham, Gabriella Kupsho, Katherine Lewandowski, Kate Malay, Jessica McClellan, Kaitlyn McGeehan, Kai Mele, Hiba Muhammad, Christine Park, Abigail Paul, Brian Payne, Katharine Pinto, Benjamin Putnam, Coleman Smith, Samantha Sparich, and Zachary Young.

Mahum Ahmed finished second in two events. Other second-place finishers are: Angelica Alday, Morgan Allen, Lauren Babinetz, Rachael Betz, Anna Cabell, Andrew Decker, Brenna Eckhart, Elizabeth Eckhart, McKenna Gallagher, Wes Guarneri, Aaron Haber, James Kelly, Alexander Kline, Syndey Kohl, Morgan Long, Noah Long, Ashley Loss, Amelia Minzola, Dustin Paul, Nadia Saeed, Bailey Slusser, Julia Snyder, Connor Spencer, Ella Urosevich, Benjamin Zhao, and Alexis Zola.

The Pennsylvania Junior Academy of Science (PJAS) is a statewide organization of junior and senior high school students designed to stimulate and promote interest in science among its members through the development of research projects and investigations.


CAPTION: MMI students placed first in 24 events and second in 27 at the Pennsylvania Junior Academy of Science state competition. Pictured are, first row, from left: Chava Bracha Eve Kornblatt, Christine Park, Elizabeth Borchick, Bailey Slusser, Jessica McClellan, Elizabeth Eckhart, Kaitlyn McGeehan, Amelia Minzola, Natalie Graham, Samantha Sparich, and Susan Moyer (PJAS advisor). Second row: Sydney Kohl, McKenna Gallagher, Ella Urosevich, Mahum Ahmed, Ashley Loss, Abigail Paul, Nadia Saeed, Brenna Eckhart, Kate Malay, and Morgan Allen. Third row: Julia Snyder, Gabriella Kupsho, Lauren Babinetz, Alexis Zola, Hiba Muhammad, Emily Ankiewicz, Katharine Pinto, Angelica Alday, Amanda Shonk (PJAS advisor), and Melissa McHale (PJAS advisor). Fourth row: Brian Payne, Coleman Smith, Daniel DeMelfi, Andrew Decker, Aaron Haber, Louis DeAngelo, Dustin Paul, Connor Spencer, and Benjamin Zhao. Fifth row: Mr. Justin Vincent (Interim Assistant Head of School/PJAS advisor), Joshua Kalada-Kania, Wesley Guarneri, James Kelly, Noah Long, Morgan Long, Nicholas Carrato, Kai Mele, and Michael Mele (PJAS advisor. Missing from photo: Rachael Betz, Anna Cabell, Katherine Lewandowski, Benjamin Putnam, and Zachary Young.