Shenandoah Valley Selects 2014 HOBY Delegates

Each year Pennsylvania high schools participating in the Hugh O’Brian Leadership Foundation select a sophomore student to represent their school at the Pennsylvania State Conference held from May 15-18th at Shippensburg University. The purpose of this seminar is to bring together a select group of high school students, who have demonstrated leadership ability, and have them attend a series of seminars conducted by distinguished leaders from business, education, and government. Afterwards through group interactions, the students will be challenged to use their abilities to problem solve and propose ideas and recommend solutions for a much better future. To be eligible for HOBY consideration, students were asked to submit an essay in which they address the question, “What is the most rewarding & challenging aspect about being a leader in your community?” SV students selected as HOBY delegates become members of the SV Student Council, where they utilize their training in facilitating a more effective student government.


Shown seated in the photo are the SV sophomore HOBY ambassadors Nicholas Twardzik & alternate Alaina Demalis being congratulated by HOBY coordinator & SV Guidance Counselor Melissa Kayes.  Standing:  Senior HOBY representatives Jillian Dove & Abigail Kayes, and Junior HOBY representatives Nicholas Gurski & Kristina Nieddu.