Seventeen MMI students place in top 10 at Pennsylvania FBLA state leadership conference


(Freeland, PA – May 1, 2017) – Eight MMI Preparatory School students advanced to the Future Business Leaders of America (FBLA) national leadership convention and 9 additional students placed in the top 10 in their respective competitive events during the Pennsylvania FBLA state leadership conference earlier this month at the Hershey Lodge and Convention Center.

Junior Julia Snyder captured first place for client service, seniors Jonathan Smith and Jessica Smith both finished second for public service announcement, senior Allison McGeehan was second in business law and sophomore Morgan Long finished fourth for intro to business procedures. Junior Jakob Schwabe was elected to serve as the Pennsylvania FBLA state secretary for 2017-2018. All six students will represent MMI at the FBLA national leadership convention, along with juniors Chava Kornblatt and Stephanie Zellner who took sixth for marketing, which will be held from June 27 to July 3 in Anaheim, California.

Additional MMI top ten finishers were: senior Joey Kress (fifth place in organization leadership), juniors Sydney Karpowich and Anna Haber (both seventh for business plan), senior Nicholas Young (seventh for healthcare administration), juniors Talia Logerfo and Abigail Paul (eighth for management information systems) and seniors Eric Degenhart, Dillon Merenich and Lucas Smith (all ninth for public service announcement).

MMI Social Science Instructor/FBLA Club Advisor Katherine Zucco and Art & Anthropology Instructor Lisa Ferry served as chaperones for the FBLA competition.

Future Business Leaders of America is the largest career student organization in the world. Each year, FBLA helps over 230,000 members prepare for careers in business. The organization’s mission is to bring business and education together in a positive working relationship through innovative leadership and career development programs. FBLA’s programs focus on leadership development, academic competition, education programs and community service.

Julia Snyder is the daughter of Dr. Christopher and Dr. Jill Snyder, Sugarloaf; Jonathan Smith and Jessica Smith are the son and daughter of Jonathan Smith and Beatrice Russo-Smith, White Haven; Allison McGeehan is the daughter of Thomas and Sandra McGeehan, Drums; Morgan Long is the son of David and Theresa Long, Mountaintop; Jakob Schwabe is the son of Marybeth Hayden, Hazle Township, and Scott Schwabe, New York, NY; Joey Kress is the daughter of Jessica Holliday, Drums, and Joseph and Tracy Kress, Sugarloaf; Chava Kornblatt is the daughter of Joseph and Georgia Kornblatt, Kingston; Stephanie Zellner is the daughter of Stephen and Theresa Zellner, Drums; Sydney Karpowich is the daughter of Atty. Donald Karpowich and Tracy Gallagher, Sugarloaf; Anna Haber is the daughter of Dr. John and Cathryn Haber, Tresckow; Nicholas Young is the son of Christian and Nicole Young, Freeland; Talia Logerfo is the daughter of John and Diane Logerfo, Conyngham; Abigail Paul is the daughter of Rustin and Cynthia Paul, Jim Thorpe; Eric Degenhart is the son of Dr. John and Janet Degenhart, Hazleton; Dillon Merenich is the son of Michael and Cindy Merenich, Freeland; and Lucas Smith is the son of Robynn Smith, Drums.