The Pennsylvania Association of Student Councils (PASC) announced in February that the Mountain View Jr. Sr. High School Student Council won the bid to host the 2020 PASC State Conference. The PASC State Conference is a leadership conference, held annually, that hasn’t been hosted in Northeastern Pennsylvania since 2010. The last time Northeastern Pennsylvania hosted this conference, a delegation of schools worked together to host including Mountain View, North Pocono, Pocono Mountain West, Mid Valley, Abington Heights, and several other local schools.


The conference will bring over 1000 student leaders and advisors from across the state to NEPA for three days of leadership training, which will include nationally recognized speakers, student led workshops and large group training sessions.


The first step in hosting was to select conference and committee chairs who will work together to plan and execute all aspects of this conference. A selection committee which included student council officers, council advisor Andrea Aten, conference finance adult chair Rebekah Ihlefeldt, High School Principal Robert Presley and MV Superintendent Karen Voigt, evaluated the student applications before choosing the conference and committee chairs.


“I am thrilled I was selected as one of the Conference Co-chairs and will represent Mountain View on the PASC Executive Board for the next two years as we plan and host the 2020 State Conference,” Hannah Geron commented. Hannah was selected as one of the three Conference Co-Chairs along with Penelope Ziegler and Reagan White. “As a council, we have already started plans for fundraising and committee work. We are ready for the hard work and dedication needed to make this event happen.”


The conference will take place October 29, 30, 31, 2020.



Image Included (IMG_0126): Conference and Committee Chairs for the 2020 PASC State Conference:

Front Row from left to right: Penelope Ziegler, Hannah Geron, Sydney Barhite, Charlize Barhite, Lexie Turner, Emily Cosklo, Jocelyn Schwartztrauber, Rachel Hunter

Back Row from left to right: Chase Poplawski, Casey Congdon, Maressa Salansky, Ava Presley, Rebecca Plomchok, Briana Boswell, Amber George, Jordyn Walker (Not pictured: Reagan White and Marisa Ostir)