MMI Preparatory School inducted 27 students into the Andrew J. Stofan Chapter of the National Honor Society during an honor societies induction ceremony at the school.

MMI Head of School D. Scott Wiggins delivered a welcome address to the attendees and provided closing remarks. MMI English instructor and National Honor Society advisor Donna Titus presided over the induction ceremony. National Honor Society officers are: Marc Lobitz, president; Benjamin Lloyd, vice president; Wesley Guarneri, secretary; Andrew Decker, historian, and John Malay, treasurer.

The inductees are: David Antolick, son of David and Deborah Antolick of Drums; Elias Bachman, son of George Bachman, Thornhurst, and Tammy Bachman; Lance Book, son of Lance and Lisa Book of Sugarloaf; Philip Byriel, son of Julia Byriel of Drums and the late Kim Byriel; Merci Centrella, daughter of Lorenzo and Josephine Centrella of Weatherly; Jonathan DeBellis, son of Mark and Maria DeBellis of Sugarloaf; Elizabeth Eckhart, daughter of Charles and Kim Eckhart of Lehighton; Jessica Flynn, daughter of Richard and Karen Flynn of Mahanoy City; Carter Frask, son of Corey and Hope Frask of Drums; Ryan Halterman, son of Gary and Kathleen Halterman of Drums; Catherine Havrilla, daughter of James and Emily Havrilla of Mountaintop; Madyson Hornack, daughter of John and Jeanie Hornack of Hazleton; Alexander Jordan, son of Robert and Teresa Jordan of Drums; Marcus Kassick, son of Danielle and Angel Morales of West Hazleton; Harrison Kress, son of Jessica Holliday of Drums and Joseph and Tracy Kress of Sugarloaf; Paige Machulsky, daughter of David and Renee Machulsky of White Haven; Kai Mele, son of Michael and Laurie Mele of Jim Thorpe; Katharine Pinto, daughter of Karen Pinto of Mountaintop; Andrellie Puntiel, daughter of Yesenia and Jose Rivera of Hazleton and Pedro Puntiel of Monroe, NJ; Benjamin Putnam, son of Benjamin and Andrea Putnam of Sugarloaf; Maya Rizkalla, daughter of Sandra Rizkalla of Freeland and George Rizkalla of Drums; Josue Rodriguez, son of Jose and Dulce Rodriguez of Hazleton; Joshua Serock, son of Paul and Erin Serock of Drums; Adam Tron, son of Dr. Eduardo Tron and Dr. Graciela Bianco of Mountaintop; Grant Warren, son of Richard Warren of Danville and Atty. Rebecca Warren of Beaver Meadows; Christian Yamulla, son of Dr. Robert Yamulla of Sugarloaf and Ann McCluskey of Doylestown, and Macy Zenier, daughter of Tedd and Judith Zenier of Conyngham.

The National Honor Society (NHS) is the nation’s premier organization established to recognize outstanding high school students. NHS honors those students who have demonstrated excellence in the areas of scholarship, leadership, service, and character. These characteristics have been associated with membership in the organization since its beginning in 1921.

Membership in the National Honor Society recognizes students for their accomplishments and also challenges them to develop further through active involvement in school activities and community service.


CAPTION: MMI Preparatory School inducted 27 students into the Andrew J. Stofan Chapter of the National Honor Society. Pictured are, first row, from left: advisor. Donna Titus, Macy Zenier, Catherine Havrilla, Jessica Flynn, Katharine Pinto, Andrellie Puntiel, Elizabeth Eckhart, Paige Machulsky, Madyson Hornack, and co-advisor Kathryn Green. Second row: Josue Rodriguez, Kai Mele, Alexander Jordan, Benjamin Putnam, Adam Tron, Carter Frask, Joshua Serock, Grant Warren, Lance Book, and Ryan Halterman. Third row: Head of School D. Scott Wiggins, Elias Bachman, Harrison Kress, Marcus Kassick, David Antolick, Jonathan DeBellis, Philip Byriel, and Interim Assistant Head of School Justin Vincent. Missing from photo: Merci Centrella, Maya Rizkalla, and Christian Yamulla.