Marywood University’s Doctoral Program Recently Celebrated Its 20th Anniversary


SCRANTON, PA (October 4, 2016)—Marywood University’s doctoral program in Human Development recently celebrated its 20th anniversary with a social, which was held at The Colonnade in Scranton, Pa. Committee members, administrators, and past and present directors participated in the social. Marywood University was the first regional institution to offer doctoral degree programs, which were established in 1996. Sister Gail Cabral, IHM, professor in the psychology/counseling department and first director of the Ph.D. program at the University, made opening remarks at the event.


Committee Members:

Standing in front: Sr. Gail Cabral, IHM, Scranton, founding director of the Ph.D. Program and honorary chairperson for the event. (Back row, from left): Janet Melnick, Ph.D., Scott Township; Maureen Hart, Scranton; Elizabeth McGill, Ph.D., Dunmore; Maria Montoro Edwards, Ph.D., Madison Township; Lori Swanchak, Ph.D., Dalton, and Deborah Hokien, Ph.D., Scranton, program director. Not pictured: John Coval, Scranton; Christina Mace, Scranton; Tricia Richards, South Abington Township; Heather Shanks McElroy, Ph.D., Blakely; Carrie Toomey, Dunmore, and Ann Williams, Scranton.

committee pic



Marywood Administrators are (Standing, from left): Stephen Burke, Ph.D., Clarks Summit; director of the School of Social Work; Mary Ann Fedrick, Ph.D., Laflin, retired dean of the Reap College of Education and Human Development; Kathy Ruthkosky, Ph.D., Scranton, associate vice president for Planning & Institutional Effectiveness; Deborah Hokien, Ph.D., Scranton, director of the Ph.D. Program; Renee Gregori Zehel, Ph.D., Scranton, vice president for university advancement, and Amy Paciej Woodruff, Ph.D., Tunkhannock, assistant vice president for student life.

administrators pic


PAST AND PRESENT DIRECTORS of the Ph.D. Program at Marywood University gathered to reminisce at the 20th anniversary celebration of the program (Standing, from left): Mary Ann Fedrick, Ph.D., Laflin; Marie Loftus, Ph.D., Scranton; Sr. Gail Cabral, IHM, Scranton, founding director, and Deborah Hokien, Ph.D., Scranton, current program director. Not pictured: Brooke Cannon, Ph.D., professor in the Psychology and Counseling department, and Alan Levine, Ph.D., professor in the Nutrition and Dietetics department, both of Clarks Summit.

directors pic