Marywood University Students and Faculty Win American Advertising Federation Awards

SCRANTON, PA (February 24, 2015)—Marywood University graduate and undergraduate students, along with a faulty member, received awards for their design and illustration work at the Northeast Pennsylvania (NEPA) American Advertising Federation (AAF) competition.

There are two categories for judging, one for students and one for professionals. Four award-winning designers and a copywriter from Albany, N.Y., where the entries were judged, performed the judging. The highest scoring work received Best of Show, which was awarded to Marywood University student Nailea Meneses for her work: Hunger in America poster. Gold award winners will go forward to the District II competition, which consists of the New York, Pennsylvania, Delaware, and Maryland region.

“This is an impressive accomplishment—to have students win at this level,” said Christine Medley, assistant professor of graphic design and winner of the Professional Silver AAF Award competition. Gold award winners include: Nailea Meneses, senior and Ashley Kujat, senior. Silver award winners include: Ashley Kujat, senior; Patrick Mineo, senior; Thomas Cunningham, senior; Jessica Meoni, MFA student; and Nailea Meneses, senior.

AAF of NEPA is the nation’s oldest national advertising trade association. The only association representing all facets of the advertising industry, AAF is headquartered in Washington, D.C., and acts as the “Unifying Voice for Advertising.” AAF protects and promotes the well being of advertising through a unique, nationally coordinated grassroots network of advertisers, agencies, media companies, local advertising clubs and college chapters.

Marywood University students and faculty, along with AAF board members, pose for a photo at the Northeast Pennsylvania American Advertising Award ceremony.  Pictured are:

Front row left to right: Desiree Zielinski, AAF board member and awards chair; Jessica Meoni, MFA graphic design student; and Nailea Meneses, graphic design student.

Back row left to right:  Samantha Nardelli, AAF board member; Patrick Mineo, graphic design student; Thomas Cunningham, graphic design student; Christine Medley, assistant professor of graphic design; and Ashley Kujat, graphic design student.