Marywood University Hosts Induction Ceremony for Communication Arts Students

Marywood University’s communication arts department recently hosted its 2017 Induction Ceremony for campus chapters of the American Advertising Federation (AAF), the Public Relations Student Society of America (PRSSA), and the Society for Collegiate Journalists at the University.

The induction ceremony included 21 Marywood students who were inducted into the University’s AAF, PSSA, or SCJ Chapters. Keynote speakers included Kathryn Bondi, vice president of AAF of Northeastern Pennsylvania, and Sarah Hofius-Hall, Scranton Times-Tribune reporter.

Ms. Bondi explained that the path to the job that one gets is not always a clear-cut one, and requires each person to be patient yet determined in his or her professional pursuits. “Lift each other up,” said Ms. Bondi. “Say yes to opportunities that come up—attend workshops, local speaking engagements, and networking events,” she continued.

Ms. Hofius-Hall offered students a “Top Ten” list, which included valuable insights into lessons that she has learned while working as a reporter with The Scranton Times-Tribune, which included advice ranging from wearing practical shoes to the importance of journalism in our country today. “The threats to press freedoms, along with the presence of fake news and alternative facts, mean we need reputable news sources more than ever. We need reporters who are eager to keep the public informed, and I hope that’s all of you,” said Ms. Hofius-Hall.

Kristen Pietryka, PRSSA/AAF Chapter president, and Alexandra Goebelber, PRSSA/AAF Chapter vice president, recited the pledge for the inductees that include: Lauryn Butler, Kourtney Kordish, Christy O’Neil, Kirstin Wilson, Jordyn Jacques, Casey Markiewicz, Margaret Scott, and Anne Zukowski.

Alex Weidner, SCJ president, and Rachel Looker, SCJ vice president, led the pledge for SCJ inductees that include: Elizabeth Carlson, Alex Knittel, Kaitlyn O’Meara, Ali Sidiki, Courtney Snyder, Brooke Williams, Kyle Clouse, Kaitlin Korgeski, Christy O’Neil, Margaret Scott, Daniel Smith, and Bethany Wade.

Inductees include: First Row (left to right) Jessica L. Bonacci, Scranton, Pa.; Rachel C. Looker, Blandon, Pa.; Kaitlin Korgeski Scranton, Pa.; Brooke S. Williams, Jessup, Pa.; Courtney L. Snyder, Williamsport, Pa.; Margaret J. Scott, Scranton, Pa.; Anne M. Zukowski, Montrose, Pa.; Kyle Clouse, Shohola, Pa.; Katlynn  M. Whitaker, Apalachin, N.Y.; Kourtney L. Kordish, Eynon, Pa.; Kirstin Wilson, Feasterville Trevose, Pa.; Christy N. O”Neil, Binghamton, Pa.; Elizabeth A. Carlson, Merrick, N.Y.; Ali Sidiki, Scranton, Pa.; Haley O’Brien, Scranton, Pa.

Second Row (left to right) Daniel J. Smith, Scranton, Pa.; Alex Weidner, East Greenville, Pa.; Bethany M. Wade, Bear, Del.; Kristen G. Pietryka, Old Forge, Pa.; Lauryn A. Butler, Northport, Pa.; Jordyn L. Jacques, Archbald, Pa.; Casey A. Markiewicz, Archbald, Pa.; Kaitlyn O’Meara, Washingtonville, N.Y.; Alexander A. Knittel, Sparta, N.J.; John W. Ferraro, Dickson City, Pa.

For additional information about Marywood University’s communication arts department, please visit, or call (570) 348-6209.