Marywood University Chapter, Society for Collegiate Journalists Inducts New Members


SCRANTON, PA—Marywood University’s Chapter of the Society of Collegiate Journalists recently inducted new 2014 members. The inductees are all active participants in the production of Marywood’s student newspaper, The Wood Word. Scott Schaffer, co-anchor at WNEP-TV, served as guest speaker at the induction ceremony.


Earlier in the fall semester, the SCJ Chapter held an event for National News Engagement Day. SCJ members encouraged students on campus to engage with the news through social media and distributed free copies of The Scranton Times-Tribune and The Wood Word papers to Marywood students.


For the past three years, has placed first or second in the Companion Newspaper Website category in the SCJ National Contest. Faculty advisers, Lindsey Wotanis, Ph.D., and Paul J. Sevensky, M.A., said “We’re very proud of the work students do, as they continue to make innovations to the website and print edition of The Wood Word each year.”


The Society for Collegiate Journalists (SCJ) is a national honorary society for collegiate mass communications, journalism, and other media. It is a non-profit organization operation on campuses of recognized and accredited colleges, universities, and institutes awarding degrees upon completion of two or four year programs.


For additional information on the Society for Collegiate Journalists visit or visit


(Left to right) Paul Capoccia, Dunmore, Pa.; Cameron Dieck, Batavia, N.Y.; Patrick Kernan, Scranton, Pa.; Esperanza Gutierrez, Harpursville, N.Y.; Haley O’Brien, Scranton, Pa.; Alex Weidner, East Greenville, Pa.; Anne Zukowski, Hamburg, N.J.; Juliette Meyers, Archbald, Pa.; Brandon Melo, Farmingville, N.Y.