Marywood Recognized by Society of Collegiate Journalists


SCRANTON, PA (April 22, 2015)—The Wood Word, Marywood University’s student-run newspaper, has received seven awards and one honorable mention from the Society for Collegiate Journalists (SCJ), including first place in the category of Editorial.


Several Marywood students also took home individual writing and design awards.  Individual award winners are:  Patrick Kernan, Scranton; Evan Felser, Falls Church, Va.; Lindsey Matylewicz, Tunkhannock; Brigid Edmunds, Archbald; Autumn Granza, Throop; Paul Capoccia, Dunmore; and Brandon Melo, Farmingville, N.Y.


“I’m incredibly proud of the talent and professional approach of our student-journalists,” said Lindsey Wotanis, Ph.D., faculty adviser for The Wood Word.


The Society for Collegiate Journalists (SCJ) is an academic journalism honorary organization devoted to college journalists, advisers, and media at universities across the globe. Each year, the Society sponsors a national contest, inviting every active member to submit their work.


To read the online version of The Wood Word, visit


Photo ID – The Wood Word Staff – Front (L to R): Evan Felser, Mackenzie Warren, Satara Dickey, Amanda Dunklee, Dominic Behler, Anne Zukowski, Stephanie Leone, Lindsey Matylewicz, Connor Moffitt, Erin Murphy, Maura Olek

Back (L to R): Vincent Schultz, John Ferraro, Autumn Granza, Brigid Edmunds, Katlynn Whitaker, Patrick Kernan, Paul Capoccia, Alex Weidner, Francelis Capellan, Juliette Meyers, Kelsey Van Horn, Rachel Looker, Esperanza Gutierrez

Absent from photo: Kristen Pietryka, Janice Richardson, and Brandon Melo